Essential Info for Czech Republic

Population: About 10 million

Capital cityPrague (also the largest city)

Neighbouring countries: The Czech Republic is bordered by Germany to the west, Poland to the north, Slovakia to the southeast and Austria to the south. 

Geography: The country can be divided into two main areas geographically; Bohemia to the west and Moravia in the east. Bohemia is ringed by low mountains and its landscape is defined by hills, plains and plateaus. Moravia is defined by rolling hills and valleys.
Political system: Unitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Main languages
: Czech is the official language, but German and English are also spoken.
Major religions: Predominantly non-religious with a Roman Catholic minority

Money: The currency is the Czech koruna (CZK), sometimes called the Czech crown in English. One koruna is 100 haléřů but haléře are no longer used. 

Tipping: Tipping is not mandatory but foreigners may be expected to tip more than their local counterparts. In most cases, expats can tip by rounding up to the nearest 5 or 10 korunas or, if in a restaurant, adding 5 to 10 percent to the bill.

Time: GMT+1 (GMT+2 from late March to late October)

Electricity: 230V, 50Hz. European-style plugs with two round pins are used.

International dialling code: +420
Internet domain: .cz

Emergency contacts: 112 (general emergencies), 158 (police), 155 (ambulance), 150 (fire)
Driving: On the right

Login with your Facebook account (Recommended)